Home   Notice

The Batchelor Prize 2024

  • NameICTAM 2024
  • Date2023-03-06 19:37:14
  • Inquiry30

The Batchelor Prize, founded and sponsored by the Journal of Fluid Mechanics (awarded under the auspices of IUTAM) is presented once every four years at the International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM), the next occasion being in Daegu, Korea, in August 2024. The prize winner will be announced late in 2023. 

Nominations for the 2024 Batchelor Prize are now open.

The deadline for nominations is May 31, 2023, and the winner’s announcement will be made at the end of 2023.

  The Prize of $25,000 is awarded every four years to a single scientist for outstanding research in fluid dynamics, recognizing research published during the ten years before the announcement of the award. The intention of the Prize is that younger researchers should be as eligible for consideration as those who are more established and that the work should be of great current interest (for example, an emerging field of application of fluid mechanics or a significant breakthrough in an established branch of the subject).

  The Prize winner will be determined by a small committee whose members are internationally distinguished in fluid mechanics.

  It is expected that the Prize winner will deliver a lecture at the International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM) and that this lecture will be published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics and be made freely available on the Cambridge Core website.

How nominations for the Batchelor Prize work

  The nomination process is open to everyone, and nominations should be made via email to If you would like someone to be considered for the Batchelor Prize, please nominate them using the procedure outlined below:

    • The nomination should include a brief curriculum vitae of the candidate nominated.
    • A list of their publications from 2013-2022, with up to 10 of particular distinction marked by an asterisk (there is no requirement that the research was published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics).
    • A brief (one or two pages) statement of the case for making the award, including the reasons for the selected papers of distinction. A jointly signed statement is acceptable, and further supporting letters are not required.
Conditions concerning the awards of the Batchelor Prize:

    • Self-nominations will NOT be accepted.
    • All nominations must be in English.
    • The decision of the Committee shall be final. Previous winners are not eligible.     
Winners of the Batchelor Prize:

    • 2020 Alexander J. Smits
    • 2016 Raymond E. Goldstein
    • 2012 Detlef Lohse
    • 2008 Howard Stone

Total7 [ page1/1 ]
No. Title Name Date Inquiry
공지글 The Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics 2024 2023.03.06 ICTAM 2024 2023.03.06 24
읽는중 The Batchelor Prize 2024 2023.03.06 ICTAM 2024 2023.03.06 30
5 Important updates on congress experience 2022.06.07 test 2022.06.07 46
4 Health&Safety Measures at EXCO(Congress Venue) 2022.06.07 test 2022.06.07 17
3 Early-bird Registration Re-opens ! 2022.06.07 test 2022.06.07 29
2 New Dates: ICTAM2024(from 16 June to 27 August 2024) 2022.06.07 test 2022.06.07 19
1 New Dates: ICTAM2024(from 12 March to 15 June 2024) 2022.06.07 test 2022.06.07 17
처음이전1 다음마지막