Thematic Session

Thematic Session

Home   Program  Thematic Session
Fluids

FM01Biological fluid mechanics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Sarah Waters
  • University of Oxford (UK)
  • waters@maths.ox.ac.uk
  • Prof. Simon Mendez
  • Université de Montpellier (France)
  • simon.mendez@umontpellier.fr

FM02Boundary layers

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Sergio Pirozzoli
  • Sapienza University of Rome (Italy)
  • sergio.pirozzoli@uniroma1.it
  • Prof. Xuesong Wu
  • Imperial College (UK)
  • x.wu@imperial.ac.uk

FM03Zero-emission combustion

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Chiara Galletti
  • University of Pisa (Italy)
  • chiara.galletti@unipi.it
  • Prof. Christine Mounaïm-Rousselle
  • Université d'Orléans (France)
  • christine.rousselle@univ-orleans.fr

FM04Compressible flow

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Devesh Ranjan
  • Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)
  • devesh.ranjan@me.gatech.edu
  • Prof. Jaiyoung Ryu
  • Korea University (Korea)
  • jryu@korea.ac.kr

FM05Convection

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Anne Sergent
  • Sorbonne Université (France)
  • anne.sergent@lisn.upsaclay.fr
  • Prof. Quan Zhou
  • Shanghai University (China)
  • qzhou@shu.edu.cn

FM06Drops, bubbles and interfaces

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Stéphane Zaleski
  • Sorbonne Universite (France)
  • stephane.zaleski@sorbonne-universite.fr
  • Prof. Cristian Marchioli
  • University of Udine (Italy)
  • marchioli@uniud.it

FM07Multiphase and particle-laden flows

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Jacek Pozorski
  • Institute of Fluid Flow Machinery, Polish Academy of Sciences (Poland)
  • jacek.pozorski@imp.gda.pl
  • Prof. Francesco Picano
  • University of Padova (Italy)
  • francesco.picano@unipd.it

FM08Flow instability and transition

Co-chairs
  • Prof. V. Shankar
  • IIT Kanpur (India)
  • vshankar@iitk.ac.in
  • Prof. Daniel Rodriguez
  • Universidad Politecnica de Madrid (Spain)
  • daniel.rodriguez@upm.es

FM09Thin flim flows

Co-chairs
  • Dr. Georg Dietze
  • CNRS-Université Paris-Saclay (France)
  • dietze@fast.u-psud.fr
  • Prof. Alexander Oron
  • Technion-Israel Institute of Technology (Israel)
  • meroron@technion.ac.il

FM10Geophysical and environmental fluid dynamics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Michael Le Bars
  • Aix-Marseille University (France)
  • lebars@irphe.univ-mrs.fr
  • Prof. Wontae Hwang
  • Seoul National University (Korea)
  • wthwang@snu.ac.kr

FM11Low Reynolds number flows and suspension

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Jae-Sung Kwon
  • Incheon National University (Korea)
  • jsungkwon@inu.ac.kr
  • Prof. G P Raja Sekhar
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (India)
  • rajas@iitkgp.ac.in

FM12Micro- and nano-fluidics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Maria Vittoria Salvetti
  • Univesity of Pisa (Italy)
  • maria.vittoria.salvetti@unipi.it
  • Dr. Marie-Caroline Jullien
  • Institut de Physique de Rennes, Campus de Beaulieu (France)
  • marie-caroline.jullien@univ-rennes1.fr

FM13Non-Newtonian and complex fluids

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Anke Lindner
  • University Paris Diderot (France)
  • anke.lindner@espci.fr
  • Prof. Prabhu R Nott
  • Indian Institute of Science Bangalore (India)
  • prnott@iisc.ac.in

FM14Computational fluid dynamics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Santosh Ansumali
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (India)
  • ansumali@jncasr.ac.in
  • Prof. Seungwon Shin
  • Hongik University (Korea)
  • sshin@hongik.ac.kr

FM15Turbulence

Co-chairs
  • Prof. H. Jane Bae
  • California Institute of Technology (USA)
  • jbae@caltech.edu
  • Prof. Mickael Bourgoin
  • University of Lyon (France)
  • mickael.bourgoin@ens-lyon.fr

FM16Vortex dynamics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Melissa Green
  • University of Minnesota (USA)
  • magreen@umn.edu
  • Prof. Morten Brøns
  • Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
  • mobr@dtu.dk

FM17Waves in fluids

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Yeunwoo Cho
  • Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (Korea)
  • ywoocho@kaist.ac.kr
  • Prof. Victor Shrira
  • Keele University (UK)
  • victorshrira@gmail.com

FM18Electro- and magneto-hydrodynamics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Ming-Jiu Ni
  • University of Chinese Academy of Science (China)
  • mjni@ucas.ac.cn
  • Prof. Rhokyun Kwak
  • Hanyang University (Korea)
  • rhokyun@hanyang.ac.kr
Fluids-Solids

FS01Acoustics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. John Allen
  • University of Hawaii at Manoa (USA)
  • alleniii@hawaii.edu
  • Prof. Christophe Bailly
  • Ecole Centrale de Lyon (France)
  • christophe.bailly@ec-lyon.fr

FS02Emerging experimental techniques across the length and time scales

Co-chairs
  • Prof. François Hild
  • Université Paris-Saclay (France)
  • francois.hild@ens-paris-saclay.fr
  • Prof. Kyung Chun Kim
  • Pusan National University (Korea)
  • kckim@pusan.ac.kr

FS03Nonlinear dynamics and pattern formation

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Oleg Gendelman
  • Technion-Israel Institute of Technology (Israel)
  • ovgend@technion.ac.il
  • Prof. Alexander Fidlin
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (Germany)
  • alexander.fidlin@kit.edu

FS04Porous media and liquid foam

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Xiaojing (Ruby) Fu
  • California Institute of Technology (USA)
  • rubyfu@caltech.edu
  • Prof. Ikuya Kinefuchi
  • The University of Tokyo (Japan)
  • kine@fel.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp

FS05Fluid structure interactions

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Daegyoum Kim
  • Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (Korea)
  • daegyoum@kaist.ac.kr
  • Prof. Yegao Qu
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China)
  • quyegao@sjtu.edu.cn

FS06Granular materials and flows

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Jerzy Rojek
  • Polish Academy of Sciences (Poland)
  • jrojek@ippt.pan.pl
  • Prof. Devang V Khakhar
  • Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (India)
  • khakhar@iitb.ac.in

FS07Optimization for solids and fluids

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Taraneh Sayadi
  • Sorbonne University (France)
  • taraneh.sayadi@lecnam.net
  • Prof. Joe Alexandersen
  • University of Southern Denmark (Denmark)
  • joal@sdu.dk

FS08Education in mechanics

Co-chairs
  • Dr. Vikram Pakrashi
  • University College Dublin (Ireland)
  • vikram.pakrashi@ucd.ie
  • Prof. Francesco Dal Corso
  • University of Trento (Italy)
  • francesco.dalcorso@unitn.it

FS09Reduced order modeling of fluids and solids

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Ishan Sharma
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (India)
  • ishans@iitk.ac.in
  • Prof. Majdi AZAIEZ
  • Institut Polytechnique de Bordeaux (France)
  • azaiez@bordeaux-inp.fr
  • Prof. Francisco (Paco) Chinesta
  • ENSAM Institute of Technology (France)
  • Francisco.CHINESTA@ensam.eu
  • Prof. Elias Cueto
  • Aragón Institute of Engineering Research (Spain)
  • ecueto@unizar.es
Solids

SM01Biomechanics and biomaterials

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Gang Bao
  • Rice University (USA)
  • gang.bao@rice.edu
  • Prof. G. K. Ananthasuresh
  • Indian Institute of Science Bangalore (India)
  • suresh@iisc.ac.in

SM02Tribology-contact and friction

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Marco Paggi
  • IMT Lucca (Italy)
  • marco.paggi@imtlucca.it
  • Prof. Ramin Aghababaei
  • Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • ra@mpe.au.dk

SM03Elasticity

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Santosh Kapuria
  • Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (India)
  • kapuria@am.iitd.ac.in
  • Prof. Ernian Pan
  • National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University (Taiwan)
  • ernianpan@nycu.edu.tw

SM04Damage & fracture mechanics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Roberta Massabo
  • Univ of Genova (Italy)
  • roberta.massabo@unige.it
  • Prof. Djimedo Kondo
  • Sorbonne Université (France)
  • djimedo.kondo@sorbonne-universite.fr

SM05Geomechanics and geophysics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. John Rudnicki
  • Northwestern University (USA)
  • jwrudn@northwestern.edu
  • Prof. Takashi Matsushima
  • University of Tsukuba (Japan)
  • tmatsu@kz.tsukuba.ac.jp

SM06Impact mechanics and wave propagation

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Mira Mitra
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (India)
  • mira@aero.iitkgp.ac.in
  • Prof. Han Zhao
  • Laboratory of Mechanics Paris-Saclay (France)
  • zhao@ens-paris-saclay.fr

SM07Multi-component, composites and hierarchical materials

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Pedro Camanho
  • University of Porto (Portugal)
  • pcamanho@fe.up.pt
  • Prof. Yin Fan
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China)
  • yfan1987@sjtu.edu.cn
  • Prof. Francois Barthelat
  • University of Colorado Boulder (USA)
  • francois.barthelat@colorado.edu

SM08Phase transformations and thermomechanical phenomena

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Moran Wang
  • Tsinghua University (China)
  • mrwang@tsinghua.edu.cn
  • Prof. Lorenza Petrini
  • Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
  • lorenza.petrini@polimi.it

SM09Additive manufacturing

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Jesper Hattel
  • Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
  • jhat@dtu.dk
  • Prof. Ferdinando Auricchio
  • University of Pavia (Italy)
  • auricchio@unipv.it

SM10Multibody and vehicle dynamics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Niels Leergaard Pedersen
  • Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
  • nlpe@dtu.dk
  • Prof. Robert Seifried
  • Hamburg University of Technology (Germany)
  • robert.seifried@tuhh.de

SM11Nanostructures and MEMS

Co-chairs
  • Prof. M Taher A Saif
  • University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (USA)
  • saif@illinois.edu
  • Prof. Manas Chandra Ray
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (India)
  • mcray@mech.iitkgp.ac.in

SM12Plasticity, viscoplasticity and creep

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Henrik Myhre Jensen
  • Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • hmj@mpe.au.dk
  • Prof. Lorenzo Bardella
  • University of Brescia (Italy)
  • lorenzo.bardella@unibs.it

SM13Stability and instability of materials and structures

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Davide Bigoni
  • Universita' di Trento (Italy)
  • davide.bigoni@unitn.it
  • Prof. Lingadahally S Ramachandra
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (India)
  • lsr@civil.iitkgp.ac.in

SM14Computational solid mechanics

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Emilio Martinez-Paneda
  • University of Oxford (UK)
  • emilio.martinez-paneda@eng.ox.ac.uk
  • Prof. Yuri Bazilevs
  • Brown University (USA)
  • Yuri_Bazilevs@brown.edu

SM15Vibrations and control of structures

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Guang Meng
  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China)
  • gmeng@sjtu.edu.cn
  • Prof. Igor Berinskii
  • Tel Aviv University (Israel)
  • igorbr@tauex.tau.ac.il

SM16Soft materials and extremely deformable structures

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Antonina Pirrotta
  • University of Palermo (Italy)
  • antonina.pirrotta@unipa.it
  • Prof. Sumit Basu
  • Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur (India)
  • sbasu@iitk.ac.in

SM17Metamaterials architectured materials and topology optimization

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Wei Chen
  • Northwestern University (USA)
  • weichen@northwestern.edu
  • Prof. Ole Sigmund
  • Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
  • olsi@dtu.dk

SM18Nonlinear dynamics for design

Co-chairs
  • Prof. Jerzy Warminski
  • Lublin University of Technology (Poland)
  • j.warminski@pollub.pl
  • Prof. Pedro Ribeiro
  • University of Porto (Portugal)
  • pmleal@fe.up.pt
Top