Home   Notice

The Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics 2024

  • NameICTAM 2024
  • Date2023-03-06 19:47:22
  • Inquiry526

The Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics
Founded and sponsored by Elsevier (awarded under the auspices of IUTAM)

  The Rodney Hill Prize is presented once every four years at the International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ICTAM), the next occasion being in Daegu, South Korea, in August 2024. The Prize winner will be announced late in 2023. The Prize of $25,000 is awarded to a single scientist for outstanding research in solid mechanics.

  The research recognized by the Prize shall typically have
been published during 2013-2022. Thus researchers should be as eligible for consideration as those who are more established, and the work should be of great current interest (for example, an emerging field of application of solid mechanics or a significant breakthrough in an established branch of the subject).

  The Prize winner will be determined by a small committee whose members are internationally distinguished in solid mechanics. It is expected that the Prize winner will deliver a lecture at ICTAM 2024 and that this lecture will also be published in the Elsevier Journal of the winner’s choosing and be made freely available on the journal website.

  The nomination process is open to everyone. If you would like someone to be considered for the Rodney Hill Prize, please nominate that person using the procedure outlined below:

    1. The nomination should include a brief curriculum vitae of the candidate nominated.
    2. A list of his/her publications from 2013-2022 with up to 10 of particular distinction marked by an asterisk (there is no requirement that the research was published in an Elsevier Journal).
    3. A brief (one-page) statement of the case for making the award.

To submit a nomination,
please email the publisher Dr. Carina Arasa Cid (, with the above information compiled in one single pdf file. The deadline for nominations is 31st August 2023, and the winner will be announced by the end of December 2023.

Conditions concerning the award of the Rodney Hill Prize:
    • Self-nominations will NOT be accepted.
    • All nominations must be in English.
    • The decision of the Committee shall be final. Previous winners are not eligible.

Past winners of the Hill prize:
    • 2020 Vikram Deshpande
    • 2016 Raymond Ogden
    • 2012 Huajian Gao
    • 2008 Michael Ortiz

Total8 [ page1/1 ]
No. Title Name Date Inquiry
공지글 Message from The IUTAM President to ICTAM community 2024.04.25 ICTAM 2024 2024.04.25 184
공지글 ★Regarding the registration & accommodation email from a potential scam★ 2023.12.22 ICTAM 2024 2023.12.22 3,335
공지글 Join our special events and win amazing prizes by submitting your abstract! 2023.12.19 ICTAM 2024 2023.12.19 4,240
공지글 The Abstract Submission is Available! 2023.09.01 ICTAM 2024 2023.09.01 579
읽는중 The Rodney Hill Prize in Solid Mechanics 2024 2023.03.06 ICTAM 2024 2023.03.06 526
공지글 The Batchelor Prize 2024 2023.03.06 ICTAM 2024 2023.03.06 710
공지글 Important updates on congress experience 2022.06.07 ICTAM 2024 2022.06.07 282
공지글 Health & Safety Measures at EXCO (Congress Venue) 2022.06.07 ICTAM 2024 2022.06.07 110
처음이전1 다음마지막